8-1-1 A batter becomes a runner with the right to attempt to score by advancing to first, second, third and home bases in the listed order when: he hits a fair ball (2-5-1); He becomes a batter-runner when entitled to run.
What bases are runners allowed to run through in softball?
Each runner is allowed one base if a fielder catches a fly ball in fair or foul territory but carries it out of bounds. When a ball is ruled out of play, all baserunners will be awarded two bases, the base he/she is running to at the time of the throw and the following base. No artificial noise-makers are allowed.
What conditions do runners are allowed to run in any bases?
Base runners are allowed to advance to the next base without the chance of getting out if a balk, base on balls, or interference play is called. Runners also get a base if a mistake is made. An example is when a fielder attempts to catch a fly ball in the out of play area like the dugout and falls to the ground.
What bases can’t you over run?
The rule states that the runner cannot be tagged out after overrunning first base as long as he/she immediately returns to the base. Of course there is an exception to this rule, in that the runner can make no attempt to go to second base or he can be tagged out.
Can a runner run into first baseman?
The umpires told us that both the runner and the first baseman have equal possession of first base and out coaches have told the boys to run over the first baseman. The first baseman is not allowed to stand right infront of first base unless he is in the act of fielding the batted ball or the throw.
Can you run through 1st base in softball?
Runners may slide feet first into second or third base. Runners may not slide into first base or the safety base at home plate . Runners may not slide head first into any base on the field.
Can you run inside the baseline?
The basic rule states that runners heading to first base must run within the first-base running lane, which includes the chalked lines. Both feet must be within or on the lines. This is to help ensure that defensive fielders have a fair chance to throw the ball to first and/or catch it and get the runner out.
Does the base protect the runner?
Standing on the base does not protect the runner from intentionally interfering. If you judge that he deliberately hindered the fielder by not moving at all, you can call INT.
Do you have to touch first base?
They must not make an attempt to run to second. Once they make the attempt to run to second, they can be tagged upon returning to first base. This is to be determined by the umpire. Touching the bases – A player must touch each of the bases.
Can a runner retreat on a force play?
This is the only application of this rule, not during an actual play. The runner may certainly run back to the previous base even after reaching subsequent bases. For example, on a caught fly ball the runner can retreat back, touch any bases he passed on his way back to his original base. Perfectly legal and required.
Can you slide first base MLB?
As a general rule, baserunners are able to slide into first base. Most baseball leagues do not have a rule against sliding into first base, but the majority of players frown upon sliding into first base because it is slower than running through the base.
Can a runner go back to first after touching second?
8-2-7 A batter-runner who reaches first base safely and then over-runs or over-slides may immediately return without liability of being put out provided he does not attempt or feint an advance to second. … A runner need not vacate his base to permit a fielder to catch a fly ball in the infield, but he may not interfere.
Is runner out if hit by thrown ball?
A base runner is out because he was hit by a thrown ball only when he intentionally interferes with it. … If his being hit by a thrown ball was unintentional then interference should not be called.
Can a catcher throw to shortstop?
First and Third – Throw to Shortstop
Instead of firing the ball to second, the catcher will throw the ball to the shortstop. … In addition, by throwing the ball on the third base side of second base, the shortstop is in a position to catch and throw to third if the runner has decided not to go, but is too far off third.
Can you get in a run down between home and first?
Ruling: No, unless the obstruction is intentional. NOTE: In situations where the batter-runner gets in a rundown between first and home, if the batter-runner retreats and reaches home plate, the batter-runner shall be declared out.
Can a fielder stand in the baseline?
– Fielders without the ball often stand on a base or in the base path. Doing so does not make them guilty of obstruction. They’re not obstructing unless a runner’s advance or path is altered.