If the pitcher drops the ball while in contact with the rubber and the ball does not break the plane of the foul line, that is a balk. If the ball crosses the foul line, that is a wild pitch and the ball remains live.
What is it called when a fielder drops a fly ball?
To determine whether a fly ball should be called an Infield Fly, remember the purpose of the rule. If, in an “Infield Fly situation” a fielder can allow a fly ball to drop untouched and possibly turn an easy double-play, then the batter should be called out.
Why is it called a balk?
The former home of the San Francisco Giants was notorious because of the gusty winds. According to the legend, Giants pitcher Stu Miller was blown off the mound by a gust of wind and the home plate umpire called a balk.
Can you balk in a run?
Official Definition of a Balk:
The official baseball rule book defines a balk as: “an illegal act by the pitcher with a runner or runners on base, entitling all runners to advance one base.” This is because he has nothing to lose – if the batter doesn’t get a base hit, then the balk call stands.
What is a stranded runner?
A baserunner is said to have been left on base (abbreviated LOB) or stranded when the half-inning ends and he has not scored or been put out. … It also includes runners on base at the end of a game, as when the home team scores a winning run in the ninth or a subsequent inning.
What does Designated hitter mean?
The designated hitter — or “DH” — is a player who bats in place of the pitcher. The pitcher still handles his regular duties when his team is on defense, so the designated hitter does not play in the field.
What does the word infield mean?
1a : the area of a baseball field enclosed by the three bases and home plate. b : the defensive positions comprising first base, second base, shortstop, and third base also : the players who play these positions. 2 : the area enclosed by a racetrack or running track. 3 : a field near a farmhouse.
Can a pitcher fake throw to first?
A pitcher can not feint a throw to first base.
Is it illegal to throw your glove at a baseball?
When a fielder throws his glove at a batted ball, it is a violation of baseball rule, 5.06(4)(C), the detached equipment rule. There is no penalty if the glove does not make contact with the ball but if the glove makes contact, all runners, including the batter runner are awarded three bases.
Can a catcher block the plate?
If a catcher blocks the plate without possession of the ball, the runner will be safe. However, a catcher may block the plate to field a throw if the umpire determines he could not have otherwise fielded it and thus contact with the runner could not have been avoided.
Can you fake to third and throw first in high school?
Since it is legal by NFHS rules to “feint” to third, it is legal to throw to a fielder who is not in position to make a play.
What is a fielders balk?
A fielder’s balk (as you’ve probably surmised from the other posts) is when a fielder (usually F3 or F5 ) is entirely in foul territory at the time of pitch. But, it should never be called. If you see it before TOP , move the fielder.
Can you fake a throw to third base?
Under a rule change imposed by Major League Baseball for this season, pitchers can no longer fake a pickoff throw to third base. Pitchers who did this would almost always follow by wheeling and firing to first — or to second, if a duped runner had taken off in that direction. No more.
What is K MLB?
Definition. A strikeout occurs when a pitcher throws any combination of three swinging or looking strikes to a hitter. … In the scorebook, a strikeout is denoted by the letter K. A third-strike call on which the batter doesn’t swing is denoted with a backward K.
What is team LOB?
Left on base can be viewed as both an individual statistic or as a team statistic. … In a team’s case or in an individual pitcher’s case, it refers to the number of men who remain on base at the end of an inning. LOB can be a very circumstantial statistic on a game-by-game basis.