Basically, the rule states that if a fielder is in the act of making a play at a base and he is in possession of the ball or awaiting a thrown ball, he may block the base.
Can the first baseman block first base?
The first baseman is not allowed to stand right infront of first base unless he is in the act of fielding the batted ball or the throw. … If this happened while the ball was in the infield and a play was being made on the runner then time should be called right away and the runner will get first base.
Can you block the base with your foot?
That’s obstruction! You (pointing to the runner), second base.” The fielder must allow a clear, unimpeded path to the base. Blocking a portion of the bag with a foot is obstruction. … The point is, a fielder without possession of the ball cannot deny access to a base to a runner advancing or retreating.
Can you block the baseline in baseball?
The act of blocking the plate accounted for most of the physical contact in Major League Baseball prior to the 2014 season, when it was outlawed except when the catcher already has possession of the ball. By the rules of baseball, a runner has the right to an unobstructed path to a base.
Which foot do you touch first base with?
If he is in foul territory, step across the base well before the runner gets there and use your right foot to touch first. If the catcher is in fair territory, use your left foot to contact the bag. Always give the first base to the runner.
Can you tag first base with your glove?
Answer: Yes, the batter is out. A fielder can put out a runner by tagging a base with an empty glove. Tagging the base with the glove on your hand is not much different from tagging the base with the shoe on your foot.
Can you straddle first base?
If he wanted to straddle first base, he had to have both feet completely n fair territory and his right foot had to be in contact with the base. The first part of that (both feet in fair territory) is the rule under OBR, but it’s supposed to be enforced only when the opposing team complains.
Can a first baseman straddle the bag?
Guidance from Mens League Umpire Training Tool
According to that study guide, however, it says “A first baseman straddling the bag with one foot in foul territory is considered to be in fair territory.”
Does a base runner have to avoid a fielder?
The rule provides that a runner must vacate any space needed by a fielder to make a play on a batted ball, unless the runner has contact with a legally occupied base when the interference occurs. In this case, the runner should not be called out unless the hindrance is intentional.
What’s the difference between obstruction and interference?
One key distinction between interference and obstruction: Interference is defined as a violation of either the offense or the defense; obstruction can only be committed by the defense.
How many bases are awarded on obstruction?
The obstructed runner is awarded a minimum of one base beyond his position on base when the obstruction occurred. If any preceding runner is forced to advance by the awarding of a base or bases to an obstructed runner, the umpire shall award this preceding runner the necessary base or bases.
Do you have to touch first base?
They must not make an attempt to run to second. Once they make the attempt to run to second, they can be tagged upon returning to first base. This is to be determined by the umpire. Touching the bases – A player must touch each of the bases.
Why are you allowed to overrun first base?
Although it’s not stated in many of the rule books, the reason for overrunning first base is based on the fact that the momentum of the runner doesn’t allow for him to stop on first base. … Finally, some leagues allow a batter-runner to overrun first base on a walk or hit by pitch while others do not.
Do all runners advance on obstruction?
If a play is being made on the obstructed runner, or if the batter-runner is obstructed before he touches first base, the ball is dead and all runners shall advance, without liability to be put out, to the bases they would have reached, in the umpire’s judgment, if there had been no obstruction.