Beginning halfway between home and first base, and ending at first base, there is a second chalk line to the right of the foul line. This second line and the part of the foul line it runs parallel to, form the running lane that defines the path in which a batter-runner must run as he is advancing to first base.
Why are there two lines on first base line?
The basic rule states that runners heading to first base must run within the first-base running lane, which includes the chalked lines. Both feet must be within or on the lines. This is to help ensure that defensive fielders have a fair chance to throw the ball to first and/or catch it and get the runner out.
Why is there an extra base alongside first base in SP and FP?
(d) When tagging up on a fly ball, the white section of the base must be used by the runner. One foot is permitted to extend behind or on the base into foul territory, as long as the front foot is touching the white section of the base. PENALTY: If properly appealed, runner is out.
What is the running lane to first base?
When the lane applies, the batter-runner is required to run the last half of the distance from home to first base within the three foot lane. If the runner does not do so, there is no penalty unless, in the umpire’s judgment, he interferes with the fielder taking the throw at first base.
What is the 45 foot line in baseball?
In baseball, there is a rule wherein if a batter-runner is down the path of a throw somewhere near the home plate and is in the outer area formed by the baseline and the 45-foot line, the player commits a violation if the umpire believes the player interfered with the play.
Why are you allowed to overrun first base?
Although it’s not stated in many of the rule books, the reason for overrunning first base is based on the fact that the momentum of the runner doesn’t allow for him to stop on first base. … Finally, some leagues allow a batter-runner to overrun first base on a walk or hit by pitch while others do not.
Does a runner have to run to first base?
(I) One base, if the batter becomes a runner on Ball Four or Strike Three, when the pitch passes the catcher and lodges in the umpire’s mask or paraphernalia. If the batter becomes a runner on a wild pitch which entitles the runners to advance one base, the batter-runner shall be entitled to first base only.
When did Asa become USA Softball?
OKLAHOMA CITY — The Amateur Softball Association (ASA) of America/USA Softball, the National Governing Body (NGB) of Softball in the U.S., announced today their organizational rename and rebrand to USA Softball and new logo, which will be effective January 1, 2017.
Can you steal in ASA softball?
The ball doesn’t need to touch something in order for the runners to be allowed to steal. It simply has to reach the front edge of home plate. However, if the ball touches the ground BEFORE reaching home plate, touches the plate itself, or touches the batter, runners may not steal.
How far can you hit a 16 inch softball?
The Playing Field
The official 16 inch diamond base lines will be sixty (60) feet. The pitching distance will be thirty-eight (38) feet. All batters start with 0-0 count ● No Extra foul balls!
Can you run back down the first base line?
There would be no rundown, but yes you can retreat backwards. Force out at first. You can stop. Sometimes you’ll see the ball fielded on the base path and the batter-runner will stop.
Do you have to touch first base?
They must not make an attempt to run to second. Once they make the attempt to run to second, they can be tagged upon returning to first base. This is to be determined by the umpire. Touching the bases – A player must touch each of the bases.
Who has the right to the baseline?
Here you have a collision (literally) of two rules – obstruction and interference. The interference rule tells us that a fielder has the right to make a play on the ball, and yet the obstruction rule tells us that the runner has the a right to the base path.
Can first baseman Block bag?
Basically, the rule states that if a fielder is in the act of making a play at a base and he is in possession of the ball or awaiting a thrown ball, he may block the base.
What happens if a runner runs into a fielder?
When a runner is called out for crashing into a fielder holding the ball, the ball becomes dead. Each runner must return to the last base touched at the time of interference.
Can a catcher block the plate?
If a catcher blocks the plate without possession of the ball, the runner will be safe. However, a catcher may block the plate to field a throw if the umpire determines he could not have otherwise fielded it and thus contact with the runner could not have been avoided.