Interference can also be called on the offensive team if a batter hinders the catcher after a third strike when the ball is not caught, a batter intentionally deflects any foul ball, and a baserunner hinders a following play being made on another runner after having scored or been put out.
Does the runner or fielder have the right of way?
The protection continues until the fielder makes a play or makes a throw after fielding the ball. From beginning to end of this sequence, the fielder has the right of way and runners must avoid impeding the fielder. Here’s the rub. The rules protect only one fielder.
What is the penalty for interference in baseball?
If, in the judgment of the umpire, the runner deliberately and intentionally kicks such a batted ball on which the infielder has missed a play, then the runner shall be called out for interference. PENALTY FOR INTERFERENCE: The runner is out and the ball is dead.
What is the rule on runner interference in baseball?
The rule provides that a runner must vacate any space needed by a fielder to make a play on a batted ball, unless the runner has contact with a legally occupied base when the interference occurs. In this case, the runner should not be called out unless the hindrance is intentional.
What is interference rule?
Per MLB rules: “If [a] runner has contact with a legally occupied base when he hinders [a fielder who is attempting to make a play on a batted ball], he shall not be called out unless, in the umpire’s judgment, such hindrance, whether it occurs on fair or foul territory, is intentional.
Can the catcher block home plate?
If a catcher blocks the plate without possession of the ball, the runner will be safe. However, a catcher may block the plate to field a throw if the umpire determines he could not have otherwise fielded it and thus contact with the runner could not have been avoided.
Can a runner stop in front of a fielder?
It is strictly the judgment of the umpire as to whether a violation occurred. Running in front of the fielder MAY BE a distraction, and CAN BE an interference violation. When interference is called the runner is out and all other runners must return to the last base held at the time of the pitch.
What is the difference between interference and obstruction?
One key distinction between interference and obstruction: Interference is defined as a violation of either the offense or the defense; obstruction can only be committed by the defense.
Is interference always a dead ball?
5-1-2 It is a delayed dead ball when: there is interference by a batter (Exception 7-3-5 Penalty), When the batter interferes with the catcher attempting to play on a runner, if an out does not result at the end of the catcher’s throw, the ball shall become dead immediately.
Is the runner out on batter interference?
If the batter interferes with the catcher’s throw after the batter is out on strike three, the umpire shall call “Time,” and the runner is declared out for the batter’s interference. All other runners are returned to the base they previously occupied.
Can a catcher block the plate with the ball?
A runner may not run out of a direct line to the plate in order to initiate contact with the catcher, or any player, covering the plate. … Runners are not required to slide, and catchers in possession of the ball are allowed to block the plate.
What is considered obstruction in baseball?
Definition. Obstruction describes an act by a fielder, who is not in possession of the ball or in the process of fielding it, that impedes the baserunner’s progress.
Can a base runner jump over the catcher?
NCAA (College) Rule: In college ball, diving, hurdling and/or jumping over the fielder are entirely legal…as long as the runner is able to avoid all contact with the fielder.
What is a dead ball in baseball?
A dead ball is a ball that is out of play. … Dead balls are frequent occurrences during a game, and the dead-ball period typically does not last long before the ball is put back into play. Dead balls most frequently occur when a batted ball becomes a foul ball or a fair ball is hit out of the playing field.
What happens if batter hits catcher with bat?
The follow through is the batter’s responsibility without exception, so unless the catcher jumps up and moves into the swing, if the bat hits the catcher on the follow through, it’s the batter’s fault. If no play is in progress when the contact occurs, there cannot be interference.