Who won the first home run derby in 1985?

Parker hit six homers to win the individual title in the first Home Run Derby at the All-Star Game, which was held at Minnesota’s Metrodome that year.

Who won the 1986 Home Run Derby?

Derby Winners

Year Site Winner
1986 Astrodome Darryl Strawberry
1987 Oakland-Alameda County Coliseum Andre Dawson
1988 Riverfront Stadium Cancelled due to Rain
1989 Anaheim Stadium Eric Davis

When was the first Home Run Derby?

Fans were treated to a three-round showdown between two of baseball’s most prolific home run hitters when Bonds defeated McGwire in the 1996 contest, which featured an expanded 10-player field. Bonds trailed by two homers with one out left in the finals, then homered on three straight swings for the win.

Who won the most on Home Run Derby?

Who has won the Home Run Derby the most? Ken Griffey Jr. is the only three-time winner of the event. He was the first player to win in back-to-back years (1998 and 1999). Alonso is the third to win consecutive titles and is one away from tying Griffey.

THIS IS IMPORTANT:  How much is a Bo Jackson Royals baseball card worth?

Who won the 2013 Home Run Derby?

1987 — Andre Dawson, Chicago Cubs

Dawson’s four homers bested Ozzie Virgil (2), George Bell (1) and Mark McGwire (1) at the Oakland Coliseum.

What is the longest home run ever hit in a Home Run Derby?

Juan Soto breaks Derby record with 520-foot home run. His sixth blast of the round traveled a staggering 520 feet, setting a new Home Run Derby record for the longest homer since Statcast went online in 2015.

Who won the home run contest?

Home Run Derby

Giancarlo Stanton poses with the trophy for winning the 2016 Home Run Derby
Frequency Annual
Current champion Pete Alonso
Current runner-up Trey Mancini
Participants American League and National League baseball players

Who won the 2021 Home Run Derby?

Mets slugger Pete Alonso retained his Home Run Derby crown, defeating Trey Mancini in the final round on Monday night at Coors Field in Denver. Alonso came out of the gate with a record 35 home runs in the first round and made it look easy, defeating Juan Soto in the semifinals.

Has there ever been a pitcher in the Home Run Derby?

Has a pitcher ever competed in the Home Run Derby? There has never been a pitcher compete in the Home Run Derby.

Who has won the HR Derby twice?

10:45 p.m.: Alonso hits each of the first six pitches he sees for home runs to reclaim his title. He is the third batter ever to win the Home Run Derby twice in a row, joining Ken Griffey Jr. (1998-99) and Yoenis Cespedes (2013-14). PETE ALONSO WINS IT!

THIS IS IMPORTANT:  How many games did MLB play in 1941?

How much does the Home Run Derby winner get?

The Home Run Derby winner has made $2 million in 2 nights — more than he’s made in 3 seasons with the Mets. New York Mets first baseman Pete Alonso won his second Home Run Derby on Monday. He has made $2 million for winning it in 2019 and 2021.

Who won the 2002 Home Run Derby?

Giambi wins 2002 Home Run Derby.

Who won the 2029 Home Run Derby?

Winner Pete Alonso of the New York Mets hit 23 home runs in the final round, also breaking the final round total set by Giancarlo Stanton in 2016. The total tally of 312 home runs is the most in the history of the event.