Question: When did Ken Griffey win the Home Run Derby?

Who has won the Home Run Derby the most? Ken Griffey Jr. is the only three-time winner of the event. He was the first player to win in back-to-back years (1998 and 1999).

Who won the HR Derby in 1998?

The 2021 MLB All-Star Game and Home Run Derby is back at Coors Field in Denver, Colorado, for the first time in over two decades. The last time the derby was in Denver was back in 1998, and it featured a star-studded field of sluggers in Ken Griffey Jr., Jim Thome, Mark McGwire, Alex Rodriguez, and Chipper Jones.

What is the most Home Run Derby wins?

Here’s who has won the Home Run Derby in the past. Ken Griffey Jr. is the only hitter to win the derby in Colorado. He also holds the record for the most Home Run Derby wins overall, sitting at three, including 1998 and 1999 when he became the first player to win the event in back-to-back years.

Did Barry Bonds ever win a Home Run Derby?

1996: Barry Bonds and Mark McGwire Face off

THIS IS IMPORTANT:  You asked: How do you steal a base in MLB?

Bonds is the all-time home run leader with 726 career dingers. The two modern day home run kings faced off in the 1996 Home Run Derby and, as expected, didn’t disappoint. Bonds edged McGwire by two home runs, giving him an impressive 17 for the contest.

Who won the Home Run Derby in 1999?

1990 — Ryne Sandberg, Chicago Cubs

Sandberg infamously won the 1990 Derby at Wrigley Field with only three total home runs while the rest of the eight-man field combined for only two home runs.

Who won the Home Run Derby in 1997?

1997 Home Run Derby

1997 Home Run Derby Jacobs Field / Cleveland, Ohio
Place Name(s) Total
1st Tino Martinez 16
2nd Larry Walker 19
3rd Mark McGwire 7

Who won the Home Run Derby in 1996?

Derby Winners

Year Site Winner
1996 Veterans Stadium Barry Bonds
1997 Jacobs Field Tino Martinez
1998 Coors Field Ken Griffey, Jr.
1999 Fenway Park Ken Griffey, Jr.

Who won the 2002 Home Run Derby?

Giambi wins 2002 Home Run Derby.

What’s the longest home run ever hit?

The Longest Home Run Ever Was So Deep, It Fooled the Camera Man

  • 535 Feet: Adam Dunn (Cincinnati Reds, 2004), Willie Stargell (Pittsburgh Pirates, 1978)
  • 539 Feet: Reggie Jackson (Oakland Athletics, 1971)
  • 565 Feet: Mickey Mantle (New York Yankees, 1953)
  • 575 Feet: Babe Ruth (New York Yankees, 1921)

Who won the 2010 Home Run Derby?

Big Papi wins 2010 Home Run Derby. BOSTON — David Ortiz spent an entire career swinging for the fences, whether it was batting practice or the actual game. One of the most impressive power displays Big Papi ever put on was on July 12, 2010, when he won the Home Run Derby in Anaheim.

THIS IS IMPORTANT:  How much is the average baseball scholarship?

Who has won the HR Derby twice?

10:45 p.m.: Alonso hits each of the first six pitches he sees for home runs to reclaim his title. He is the third batter ever to win the Home Run Derby twice in a row, joining Ken Griffey Jr. (1998-99) and Yoenis Cespedes (2013-14). PETE ALONSO WINS IT!

Who won the 2020 Home Run Derby MLB?

Pete Alonso of the New York Mets became the third back-to-back Home Run Derby champion, beating No. 6 seed Trey Mancini in the final.